What is a box spring?

A box spring comprises an upholstered bed base on legs, with one or two mattress layers on top.

The bed base or box contains hundreds of coil springs, worked in over the entire area of the bed. They provide even support over the entire sleeping surface, and thus stability. No matter where you lie, every zone of the bed offers equal comfort. That is different from a slatted base, for example, on which only the central area is bendable and thus springy.

The simplest set is a box spring base and a classic mattress. You simply choose a mattress based on your comfort requirements (anti-bacterial, extra ventilation, double mattress or two singles, etc.) and you are ready in no time. You may hear rumours that a spring mattress is the best option on a box spring, so that the springs work together to ensure an extremely high level of support. But a quality foam mattress will give sufficient support to maintain a good sleeping posture. Our advice will assist you through choosing your personal preferences.

When the finished bed comprises two mattresses, the first one is finished in the same colour as the bed base and headboard. That upholstered mattress has a sturdy construction and has ergonomic zones for extra support. The second is a thin, top mattress that offers supple sleeping comfort and features such as extra ventilation capacity, anti-allergic qualities, etc. These extra technologies cannot be integrated into the upholstered mattress. The trend for box springs with two mattress layers on top comes from Scandinavia, and is often the preferred choice from an aesthetic point of view.

To finish the look perfectly, a box spring should have matching headboard (optional). And you can complete the bedroom with accessories, e.g. bedside cabinets, storage boxes, etc.

Why choose a box spring?

Maximum support

The combination of hundreds of springs integrated over the entire area of the bed and a system of configured mattress layers offers maximum support in any position and with every movement, and does that all through the night. And that is very important for avoiding physical complaints such as back, neck or shoulder pain.

Ventilation

Besides offering support, the springs offer vital ventilation. The space between the coils allows continuous airflow. That is very good for temperature regulation, but also for your health and the bed's lifespan!

Comfort getting in and out of bed

You will never get out of the wrong side of the bed again! A box spring is a little higher than a 'regular' bed. And that means it is easy to get in and out.

Two mattresses but one sleeping surface

An upper layer covering the two base mattresses creates a single sleeping surface on your box spring. No more uninviting creases dividing your bed in two, now you can lie snuggly against each other. And if you are a single sleeper, you do not have to choose a side anymore; you can even lie right in the middle!

Size mattress

You find box springs in a variety of formats under the title 'mattress size'. Some people opt for standard sizes, while others want a roomier model. And that is no problem, because box springs are available in sizes up to 2 m wide and 2.20 m long.

Your design

Would you like to compose a Van Landschoot box spring to suit your own taste? Now you can! Choose your very own combination of style, colour, fabric, legs, etc. Your dealer will be happy to help.

Long-term investment

You do not buy a new bed every week. And that is why you should see it as a long-term investment. Although a little more expensive to purchase, you will guarantee yourself 20 years of sleeping pleasure by buying a box spring. And a high quality mattress will last an average of ten years if well maintained. A topper mattress will last a little less long, an average of three to five years.

Electrical

A box spring is ideal for integrating electrical systems for adjusting bed position. And that offers you unprecedented comfort, even when sitting upright in your bed.

Axelsson collection: trendy and budget friendly

Axelsson

Belgian with a cosmopolitan hint. A stylish sleeping environment with flawless design. The Axelssøn takes you to the realm of your dreams every night.

Discover Axelssøn

Henson Design collection: pure luxury

Henson

One glance at the Henson Design collection will tell you that the designers certainly pulled out all the stops when creating this line of luxury beds and matrasses.

Discover Henson Design

Follow us

Want to stay up to date with the latest news? Follow us on social media!

Follow us

Want to stay up to date with the latest news? Follow us on social media!

Qu’est-ce qu’un boxspring?

Un boxspring consiste en un sommier revêtu sur pieds, garni d'un ou deux matelas.

Le sommier, ou box, est muni de centaines de ressorts, intégrés sur toute la surface du lit. Ceux-ci veillent à offrir un soutien uniforme, et donc une bonne stabilité : où que vous vous couchiez, chaque zone du lit vous offrira le même niveau de confort. Ce qui n'est pas le cas avec un sommier à lattes, où seule la partie centrale du lit est souple et flexible.

La combinaison de boxspring la plus simple associe un box à un matelas classique. Vous choisissez votre matelas sur la base de vos préférences en termes de confort (antibactérien, ultra aéré, un matelas deux personnes ou deux matelas individuels,...) et vous voilà fin prêt(e). Permettez-nous simplement de vous glisser à l'oreille qu'il vaut mieux opter pour un matelas à ressorts dans le cas d'un box, car les deux couches de ressorts peuvent alors se combiner et apporter un soutien optimal. Ceci dit, un matelas en mousse de qualité vous offrira un support suffisant pour garantir une bonne posture de sommeil. Notre conseil: laissez-vous guider par vos préférences personnelles.

En cas de combinaison de deux matelas, le boxspring se composera premièrement d'un matelas revêtu dans la même couleur que le sommier et la tête de lit, posé sur le box. Cette couche est particulièrement solide et est en outre munie de zones de confort ergonomiques pour un meilleur soutien. Le deuxième matelas plus fin procure un confort plus souple et peut offrir des avantages complémentaires tels qu'une ventilation accrue, des propriétés antiallergiques, etc. Ces petits atouts techniques ne peuvent pas être inclus au matelas revêtu. La tendance du boxspring à deux couches de matelas nous vient de Scandinavie et est souvent choisie pour des raisons esthétiques.

Enfin, le boxspring peut être en option équipé d'une tête de lit, qui viendra apporter la touche finale à votre lit. Vous pouvez éventuellement aussi y ajouter d'autres accessoires assortis, tels que des tables de chevet ou un coffre de rangement.

Pourquoi opter pour un boxspring?

Soutien maximal

Grâce aux centaines de petits ressorts répartis sur toute la surface du lit et à un assemblage sur mesure de couches de matelas, votre corps est soutenu de façon optimale toute la nuit durant, quels que soient vos mouvements et la position dans laquelle vous dormez. Un élément essentiel pour éviter de souffrir de douleurs physiques, tels que maux de dos, de cou ou d'épaules.

Ventilation

Outre un excellent soutien, les ressorts d'un boxspring offrent aussi une bonne ventilation. Grâce à l'espace entre les spirales des ressorts, l'air circule en permanence. Idéal pour un bon règlement de la température, mais aussi pour votre santé et pour la durée de vie de votre lit !

Hauteur confortable

Vous ne vous lèverez plus jamais du mauvais pied ! Un boxspring est plus élevé qu'un simple lit. Vous montez et descendez ainsi plus facilement du lit, et le coucher comme le lever deviennent un plaisir.

2 matelas, 1 surface de sommeil

Les deux matelas inférieurs d'un lit deux personnes sont surmontés d'une couche supérieure en une seule pièce, formant ainsi une seule surface de sommeil. Fini donc la fente désagréable qui divise le lit en deux : vous pouvez enfin dormir douillettement serrés l'un contre l'autre. Ou si vous êtes seul(e) dans ce grand lit : plus besoin de choisir un côté, votre place est en plein centre!

La taille compte

Sous la devise « La taille compte », nos boxsprings sont disponibles en différentes formats. Que vous préfériez des dimensions standard ou un modèle plus vaste, nous avons ce qu'il vous faut, jusqu'à 2 m de large sur 2 m 20 de long.

Votre propre modèle

Vous aimeriez composer votre boxspring Van Landschoot selon vos propres goûts ? C'est possible ! Vous choisissez vous-même le style, la couleur, le tissu, les pieds, etc. de votre nouveau lit. Votre distributeur se fera un plaisir de vous aider dans vos choix.

Investissement sur le long terme

Un nouveau matelas ne s'achète pas toutes les semaines. Mieux vaut donc le considérer comme un investissement de longue durée. Bien qu'un peu plus cher à l'achat, le boxspring vous garantit quelque 20 ans de confort de sommeil sans souci. En comparaison, un matelas de qualité supérieure dure 10 ans en moyenne, à condition de bien l'entretenir. Un surmatelas dure lui seulement 3 à 5 ans en moyenne.

Électrique

Le boxspring permet de facilement intégrer un système d'actionnement électrique pour adapter la position du matelas. Vous profitez ainsi d'un confort inégalé, même assis(e) dans votre lit.

Collection Axelsson: Trendy et économique

Axelsson

Une gamme belge tournée vers le monde. Dormir avec élégance dans un design irréprochable. Axelsson vous emmène chaque nuit dans la ville de vos rêves.

Découvrez Axelsson

Henson Design: luxe pur

Henson

Un seul regard sur la collection Henson Design permet de voir qu'aucun effort n'a été épargné lors de la conception et du développement de cette gamme de lits et matelas de luxe.

Découvrez Henson Design

Suivez-nous

Vous voulez rester à jour avec les dernières nouvelles? Suivez-nous sur les médias sociaux!

Suivez-nous

Vous voulez rester à jour avec les dernières nouvelles? Suivez-nous sur les médias sociaux!